PDA

View Full Version : is my hamster dying

hammyandberyl
07-19-2015, 04:57 AM
hello everyone i'm new to all this so apologies.

my little hamster beryl i think maybe dying,
she recently lost all her fur and it turned out it was she was alergic to some bamboo sticks i purchesed for her from the petshop, so i took them out and her furn started to come back in clumps and today when i came in from work my mum came and met me and said she had passed on, so came rushing home and she was still slightly breathing, i suspected she was older than the petshop may have sold her for given she was much larger than my other hamster hammy, beryl for the last few weeks has been very slow and ditherly on her legs and not playing as much and is just sleeping and eating/drinking
when i came and found her today from work she was hunched over cold and purple and her head was burried in her sawdust and her wee paws wher covering her nose and she wasnt breathing i sat and looked at her for ages to see if i could see any movement and she breathed about after 2 mins so i managed to move her a wee bit so she could get some aid and shes only breathing every couple of mins i feel in a way because what if she was trying to take her self out any kind of pain she was in but on the other hand id of hated not to do anything and her pass away can anone please advise me on anything as looking after hamsters is all new to me is this normal activit if they want to pass away or what?! :cry::cry::cry:

thank you in advance xx

fluffytruffle
07-19-2015, 02:00 PM
I would say call a vet and ask for advice. If she's cold to the touch warm her up, if you'v got a hot water bottle you can put her on top of that (not boiling water). If not you can warm her up with your hands that might help her.

Nancy's Hamsters
07-19-2015, 02:02 PM