PDA

View Full Version : Moving things around!

Chewster
01-09-2014, 01:59 PM
Hiya,
So I've had my hamster for a week. I've left her all week to settle in (haven't tried to hold her or anything) but she was hiding in her nest that she built and not coming out apart from to see what I was doing when I walked in the room, or to get some food/drink.

The cage is a bit on the small side (i'm still learning all this, am getting a new one from zooplus). It is the Bristol cage that has a large platform above the base of the cage. Chewy wasn't venturing up there at all and was just hiding under the house in a nest she built in the corner, plus there wasn't much room for me to get my hand in to move things about.

So tonight I put her in her exercise ball for the first time - which she LOVED - and I took the green shelf out. I did a quick spot clean as it didnt really need much cleaning yet and added some extra bedding.
When Chewy got back in she ran around looking at everything (there is now room for a tube toy which i've put in there) and she's actually just gone into the house which I put down on the base of the cage.
Basically the cage seems a lot more airy and less cramped now. She hasn't squeaked or seemed scared at the changes.. I just wanted to ask, have I done a good thing or will it have traumatised her??

It seems this way she has more space to move around and she wasn't using the big platform anyway....
I just want what's best for her and this is all a bit new to me..

Thanks

:confused::shock:

SinNyx
01-09-2014, 02:11 PM
Do not worry! If she seems all fine, she appreciates it ;)