PDA

View Full Version : How long does it last?

StarlightSerenity
07-16-2012, 06:44 AM
How long does your substrate last? I'm considering, in the future, switching to hemp but the shavings I use last ages and I want to make sure that whatever I buy will last a long time and be cost effective.

I shavings I buy cost £18.49 for 20kg which lasts 9 months with one cage to fill.

What substrate do you use, how much does it cost and how long does it last?

Charley101
07-16-2012, 07:06 AM
I use aubiose and it costs me £9.82 for the 20kg bale from my local farm/horse shop.

I've been using it for a few months now and I still have 1/3 of a bag. In that time, I have done regular partial cage cleans for my hamsters and my three gerbils. I have also done one full cage clean with the hams and two full cage cleans with the gerbils. I fill the gerbils tanks up half way (20cm worth). I think I have enough left for another one (possible two) cage cleans for everyone so it really has worked out well :)

StarlightSerenity
07-16-2012, 07:11 AM
How soft is aubiose? There's a few places that sell it online and I might be able to find somewhere local that could deliver.

Charley101
07-16-2012, 07:18 AM
When I first felt it, I must admit I thought it was a little sharp. I think it was because I was used to using wood shavings so the texture just felt a lot different to me and I wasn't used to it. Now, however, I put my hand in the bale and they feel normal and not sharp at all. It certainly isn't sharp enough to do any damage and all the hams/gerbils love digging in it without any problems.

The only thing I will say about aubiose is that from time to time you may find little fluffy clumps. I don't know what they are but they are easy to spot and remove. I can always show you a picture if you like :)

StarlightSerenity
07-16-2012, 07:51 AM
Pics would be great :D

Charley101
07-16-2012, 07:55 AM
Okay, I will get right on it ;)

shazzy
07-16-2012, 08:03 AM