PDA

View Full Version : New to the family, meet Diddy!

SnuggleHam
04-27-2007, 01:00 PM
When my pet rodents passed on, I vowed that each new one would be adopted either from a shelter or private party rather then supporting the mass breeding industry buying from large chain pet stores. My dwarf roborovskis "Pichu" passed away a couple weeks back, and so his cage has been empty and waiting for a new friend.

I managed to find someone in my area that had a dwarf hamster up for adoption. Specifically thats what I was looking for seeing as my cage is only suitable for a dwarf. Anyway, I adopted a new little friend named Diddy.. thats his original name by first owner and I decided to keep it since its cute.

I believe he is a Campbells...though with the bad interbreeding he could be a hybrid for all I know. He's pretty big for a dwarf hamster! but then this is my first time owning a Campbells, Im use to the tiny robo hams, or either the big Syrian hams! I weighed him and got 58 grams, is that normal?

Beautiful markings if I say so myself, and black eyes. It seems he has sparse bits of gray and even a bit of beige in his coat, but over all looks an off white. I'm not an expert in colors, but according to my Hamster Lopeadia, he looks just like a Platinum.

http://www.hamstercentral.com/images/myhammies/diddy01.jpg

http://www.hamstercentral.com/images/myhammies/diddy02.jpg

http://www.hamstercentral.com/images/myhammies/diddy03.jpg

I tried my best to get loads of awesome pictures, but when I was about ready he decided it was time for bed. He started building up a nest in this one corner. He was in a nest building trace! :shock: I took his cage apart so it was just the base so I could get a few decent shots and he kept digging around completely oblivious. I hope to get some more when hes more awake on his own terms :)