PDA

View Full Version : How to build a bin cage?

Hannah
12-06-2010, 04:19 PM
Hi everyone.
I'm getting a new hamster and have been looking through all the cages that are available and have decided that I would like to build my own bin cage. The only thing I am worried about is ventilating the cage. Can anyone tell me where I can buy cage mesh (cheap) and and tips for how to do it easily. I am not very good at DIY. Do you just screw the mesh into place?
Thanks.
Hannah.
XxX

KatiePillow
12-06-2010, 05:01 PM
I can answer the last question, you can just stick the mesh down with like...duct tape or similar..do it on the outside in case :)

Pillow
12-06-2010, 05:18 PM
Wire mesh can easily be had online for reasonable prices.

Make sure the mesh isn't too big though, don't want your hamster trying to escape and getting stuck.

And as said above, cellotape from the outside should be sufficient for keeping it in place, make sure the hamsters can't chew at the tape though.

Hope
12-07-2010, 05:22 AM
http://www.hamstercentral.com/community/housing/7817-how-make-your-own-bin-cage.html

this link is a pretty good and simple guide to follow.

Hannah
12-07-2010, 09:36 AM
Thank you. Ive been doing my research and I am going to go bin shopping sometime this week. The only thing I'm struggling to find it small roles of suitable meshing that can be bought on the high street/DIY stores. I've seen some people have found some in Wilko's but I dont think they are still selling it, well if they are i cant find it.
XxX

Amethyst_ice
12-07-2010, 09:44 AM
tape wouldnt hold the mesh down. i drilled holes and cable tied the mesh down.

x

louisbs
12-07-2010, 11:28 AM
Goto Ikea for the bin :D
130L for £9.99 plus lid lol
Got one on my floor tempting me to fill it with a little fluffster.

Hannah
12-07-2010, 12:03 PM