Thread: Hamster sitting
View Single Post
Old 03-08-2022, 05:30 PM  
Pebbles82
Hamster Antics

Default Re: Hamster sitting

Quote:
Originally Posted by sushi_78 View Post
I've actually made a business out of small animal boarding. Most of my guests are hamsters. I've been doing it for just over two years now. It is a viable option for making a little extra income, if you're willing to do all the advertising, running of a website, insurance and so on, but it depends how much space you have. You do need some savings to begin with as a buffer in case of vet bills and other unforeseen circumstances. If an animal needs vet care while staying with you, the vet will expect you to pay upfront, and then have the owner repay you. I also always have at least one spare cage and things to go in it because you never know when a hamster is going to chew out of its cage, arrive in a dangerously insecure cage, and so on. Also it can take a while to get started. When I first started and didn't have any reviews I had to keep my prices quite low, and once the positive reviews starting coming in I was able to put them up and start making actual profit.