View Single Post
Old 02-09-2021, 04:01 AM  
TullamoreDew
Newborn Pup

Default When is the End? The Hardest Decision

Hi there,

I am a newbie to this page and am really sorry if i haven't posted this in the right place! but am really desperate for some advice. I have a gorgeous two year old (roughly- he was a rescue) Syrian Hamster called Tullamore Dew (Tully) and over the last few months has been showing signs of aging.

Around a month ago, he began to lose a little weight, a little fur and just seemed to look 'older'. He had a slight shake/wobble when walking and standing up but was still keen to come out and play and eat his favourite snacks.

However, last tuesday, i spot cleaned his cage (i know older hamsters don't like to be fully cleaned out) and noticed he was in a permament 'half asleep' state. After i was finished i watched him for quite a while and he seemed very disorientated but eventually went back to sleep.

However, over the last week, i have noticed that he sleeps almost all day and night (only comes out maybe once or twice to wee) and have a tiny munch on food. He is in a large plastic bin cage and when i used to take the lid off, he used to wake up and look up at me, however, i have realised now he may not be able to hear or see me or may just be in too deep sleep to realise. Its really hard to see. Furthermore, he is wobbly more when he walks and occasionally falls which is heartbreaking to see (his cage is very safe as i have adapted it so its safe for him- moving his food and water next to his bed).