View Single Post
Old 01-09-2011, 03:40 AM  
Little One
Newborn Pup

Default After Surviving Wet Tail?

Hello! I am new to hamsters, though I've owned two little mice in the past and am therefore not all that new to rodents in general. I also have a five year old house rabbit who is disgustingly spoiled and well cared for even though she's my first rabbit (the vet told me she never would have guessed she was five!).

Without going into the whole long "I caved when I saw her and bought a hamster from Petco and then had a horrible experience" story, suffice it to say that after having to bring her back after a few days of owning her with early signs of wet tail (good thing I am neurotic, bad thing I brought her back to Petco because they didn't seem to care much) I did finally get her back having been treated and having survived miraculously. I actually was very angry at first because I thought they gave me a different hamster, but they might not have been lying -- she was a darker color (she was initially quite blonde) than when I brought her in and the skin on her ears wasn't that tinge of gray it had been and her eyes even looked like they had a slight red tint -- though she did behave as if she recognized her cage and even me and was now completely fine with being picked up. It's been about a week and a half and she's becoming blonder, her ears have a tiny tinge of gray again and her eyes look blacker and less glassy, so I actually do think she is the same hamster. Unless it's impossible for such changes when they are young and sick?