PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about Building? But I Need Help!

climber008
06-06-2016, 01:42 PM
Hello everyone!

I have been wanting to build a cage for a long time, so I decided to research a bit. After spotting the Ikea Billy Cage, I at first thought of building it, but after seeing the size and dimensions I realized it would be WAY too small for Kornelia (a Syrian hamster.)

I want to be able to build something that I can use for future hamsters (I'm only planning on getting Syrians) so I definitely need something bigger than the Billy Cage.

I also found the Ikea Detolf Cage to be quite interesting, but since my nearest Ikea is halfway across the state, it may be more of a challenge to get one. (Shipping is going to be almost $400! Yikes!)

HoppingHammy also has a cute cage made out of a table, but I wasn't sure how to go about building that!

Does anyone have any ideas, tutorials, or EASY step-by-step instructions I could possibly do? I am a total beginner in building things, and I really don't want to spend a ton of money on something.

Thank you guys for any help you can provide me!

freyashamsters
06-06-2016, 02:11 PM
If I were to make a DIY cage, I'd get some melamine wood, some plexiglass, some aquarium silicone and lots of screws/nails! I'd make the frame out of the melamine using the screws and the silicone to stabilise it and I'd silicone the plexiglass in place :)

A Syrian would most likely need a lid (unless you have quite a tall cage, would need to be al least 55cm I'd say) out of wood & mesh :D

climber008
06-06-2016, 04:13 PM
If I were to make a DIY cage, I'd get some melamine wood, some plexiglass, some aquarium silicone and lots of screws/nails! I'd make the frame out of the melamine using the screws and the silicone to stabilise it and I'd silicone the plexiglass in place :)

A Syrian would most likely need a lid (unless you have quite a tall cage, would need to be al least 55cm I'd say) out of wood & mesh :D