PDA

View Full Version : Violent robo

sar+ste
01-02-2009, 01:12 PM
We are very concerned about one of our robos called Gene. Gene lived with his two sons Harry and Alex quite happily for eight months. He has recently become violent and aggressive towards them. On Christmas night Gene bit Harry so hard the poor hamster was covered in blood. We removed Gene but whenever we try to put him back in he immediates chases after Harry smelling his bottom and then trying to attack him. He is also biting our fingers with enough force to draw blood. We are eager to return Gene back to his family but have to abandoned all reintroductins due to his aggressive behaviour. Is this normal? do you think he can reunited with the others?

leejarratt
01-02-2009, 01:15 PM
Hello and welcome to Hamster Central,

I'm new to owning hamsters but from what I have read so far, I don't think you will be able to re-introduce your robo to the family without any of the hamsters getting seriously injured or worse.

I'm sorry but I think you will have to keep him seperated, I think this is fairly common that hamsters suddenly start fighting with each other after they have lived with each other for a long time.

Again I'm sorry to hear about your hamsters :(

Lee

zara825
01-02-2009, 02:04 PM
If you really want to re-introduce him, wait until the injured robo is healed-injured ones tend to get picked on! Do it on mutual ground, say an empty bin with just shavings, scattered food and water. If it goes well. gradually reintroduce toys, making sure they are very clean-free of any particular hammys scent.
How old is Gene?