PDA

View Full Version : Teeth - How long should they be?

ModularFurball53
10-24-2008, 08:35 AM
Hello. (:

My hamster, Bunky, is now about 4 months old. I got him late from the pet shop as nobody wanted to buy him and I just loved the little guy straight away! He is also my first hamster, so I'm still learning about them.
When I first got him, he gnawed the bars loads. I put in loads of new stuff to gnaw, and even though he didn't actually gnaw them, he certainly played with them! :x Now, even though I've re-arranged his cage, and put loads of homemade chews such as pasta, treat balls, cardboard ect, but he ignores them. :?
I was wondering if it was because his teeth had gotten too long. How long should a hamster's teeth be? I can see them, and they don't look that long. He's eating and drinking and pooping and stuff, but I'd just like to check! :mrgreen:

Thanks,
Cat (:

Treacle_08
10-24-2008, 01:48 PM
I have a hamster who chewed on bars loads and I think that they just do it for the fun of it as my hamster came originally from a place called paws here and she used to be in a tank so she had never encounterred bars before. If you are really quite concerned about his teeth then maybe you should take him to maybe a vet or the place you got him from and see if anyone can check his teeth. There will be someone out there that can help. :)

ModularFurball53
10-25-2008, 01:40 AM
You got your ham from Paw's Here? REALLY! OMG :mrgreen: That's where Bunky came from! :mrgreen:
He lived in a tank too, and he gnawed the cardboardthey had with him. :roll:
I've tried taking pasta shells and macaroni and stuffing seeds and raisons down them.

Treacle_08
10-25-2008, 09:44 AM
Have you tried half cooking spagetti and weaving it through the bars like you would card board?