PDA

View Full Version : White - Faced Robos

Tammy22
06-24-2008, 02:34 AM
Hi Everyone,

this is a bit of a strange question but can anyone help me?

I had the follwong email from someone this morning:

You may remember me contacting you in March regarding some clarification on whether I had ‘White-Faced’ or ‘Husky’ Roborovski Hamsters. As I had only managed to obtain two females I crossed to Normals with the result that I have only ever obtained Normals. At that point it looked that the gene that was producing the ‘paleness’ in colouring whether called ‘White-Faced’ or ‘Husky’ was recessive, although any information that I could find suggested that is was a dominant gene.

As a Biology teacher I was curious. Since then I have done a F1 back cross [Normal appearance] with the (white) mother and sure enough in the litter produced there were Normals and the three hamsters [digital photograph attached].

It is a recessive gene. These individuals actually seem paler than their mother and as you see they are certainly very attractive little animals.

I dont know if it is just me, but i cant seem to get my head round what he is talking about! it has really confused me as to what he is trying to say - can anyone give me an answer for him? I think i must still be asleep, as this is just not making sense to me at all!

Thanks,

Tammy x

06-24-2008, 02:47 AM
I think he's saying that his "tests" show that husky/white-faced is a recessive gene rather than dominant as he's read everywhere - if husky was dominant, then there should have been some husky babies in his litter but they've all been normal.

That's my amateur interpretation anyway Tammy!
xx

Tammy22
06-24-2008, 02:54 AM
Thanks Justine

I was sort of getting a similar idea - but the White - Faced Gene is dominant??

Tammy x

WE55EX HAMSTERY
06-24-2008, 03:08 AM
I have come across this which mentions it to be a recessive gene:

http://homepage.mac.com/dymph/roborovski/index.html