PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - cage question - tunnels

Catja
12-28-2007, 04:15 AM
Hi as a newbie I have always assumed hamsters needed tunnels and the more you could provide the better but I notice on here nobody seems to use them. Have I just succumbed to Habitrail marketing.

For Algy we have the Ovo suite which he seems to really like but I am not so sure now. For Kretchers we have the Ferplast which she seems to like

http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/ii131/catja_album/ferplast.jpg

Jane
12-28-2007, 05:08 AM
Personally I don't think tubes are that important. They enjoy a tube or two inside the cage but they're not neccessary really. The most important thing is a large cage with a suitable sized wheel. I personally think a cage should be no smaller than about 60cm x 40 (ish), I wouldn't feel comfortable keeping them in anything smaller than that.

souffle
12-28-2007, 09:15 AM
Is that all one cage Catya or is one on top of the other? Like Jane we prefer a larger running space to tubes. Tubes can get hot and steamy and some hammies jam themselves in then. They can make taming hard and also they are difficult to clean. I think the ovo is a bit small for a syrian. Pet shops hams are often quite small but if you are to get a breeder ham from Basia you will be surprised at the size of them I suspect.

Catja
12-28-2007, 11:50 AM
Hi, it is a ferplast cage with two of their mini cages plus tubing. I ran upto measure it today after reading some of the other posts and my main cage measures 58cm x 35cm. Which the RSPCA says is too small :( My hammy seems happy in it but I'm worried now.

I was in pets@home today and they had the Cambridge and the Hamster Heaven which they didn't have before but they are a bit pricey straight after Xmas!