PDA

View Full Version : Newbie questions

Miss Ratty
12-21-2007, 07:34 AM
Hello all,

I am a rat owner and looking after a Syrian hammie over xmas.
My main concern..apart from obvious things like lumps, lethargy, nor eating, limping etc.
Is there anything else specific I should look for to ensure she is fit and well?
I'm fairly new to rats..lots of research done though! But I want to make sure I care for this little darling as well as I can.

Any advice would be appreciated as I have never looked after a hamster before..and I'm only two days in!

She is currently on wood shavings from [email protected] don't know for sure if that is ok or not. For bedding she hs safe bed from P@H.
The owner didn't leave me food so she had cereals last night and rat food..I'm off to P@H later today to get some hammie fooda and I heard cat kibble is good?

Please correct if I am wrong...my interest is for her...I'm not concerned if people tell me the right thing to do on here at all nd will take no offence!

Oh..are they ok to hve yoghurt drops? She likes them..but I want to check.

Thanks in advance!
Jill...total newbie!!!

I_am_plankton
12-21-2007, 08:28 AM
Hi Jill

everything you are doing is great :) She will love the occasional yogurt drop and also cat kibble do you mean cat biscuits? They love them! We have cat bowls in our kitchen and my hams always roll over to them in their balls and try poking their tongues through the gaps lol to get the cat food!

Signs of illness include what you mentioned and also not being lively and just general looking unwell but I am sure she is fine :)

Are you tempted to get one for yourself?

Miss Ratty
12-21-2007, 09:07 AM
Um...how about tempted not to give this one back! :lol:
My next door neighbour hs a cat and dog. I'm feeding the cat while she is away and the dog is with her son.
I was concerned..cats jump..so I decided to bring little Jessie here for safety!