PDA

View Full Version : Requesting Advice...

MzWiz0915
08-08-2011, 02:31 PM
I went to my local pet shop yesterday...I usually avoid the pet shop because the staff is not very knowledgeable and I'm usually very upset by the condition the small animals are living in. But, the store changes hands quite frequently so I decided to give it another try...The new manager was delightful and introduced me to all her current hamsters ready to be adopted. Then she showed me a litter of Chinese babies that she had "rescued" from a friends home where they weren't being cared for properly. I saw that they were living in an aquarium-style cage with 2 adult females and were very young.

She picked up one baby and let me hold it! I fell in love instantly! Such delicate, streamlined features that you just don't see in other breeds! And the tail, oh I love the little tail :)

I really would love to go back in a few weeks and adopt one of these little hamsters. But I have no experience with Chinese hams and currently own a Syrian female and 2 female Robos, all under 1 year of age.

Can anyone with experience raising this breed advise me on adopting them?

Is it okay that these little ones have had a troubled start to life?

Are Chinese hams friendly and easy to tame?

Do they enjoy hand-time, or prefer to be allowed to play alone?

We're moving to a larger home next month and I will have plenty of space to expand Hamster-land, as I call my collection of cages. I'm just not certain that I would be an appropriate pet parent for this particular litter of little ones....given their troubled start...

Vectis Hamstery
08-08-2011, 02:51 PM
Chinese hamsters are my favourite! Those little tails just get me too, and they're so sweet. It's lovely to see another Chinese hamster convert :)