PDA

View Full Version : Can I use insect mesh?


DwarfNome
03-04-2011, 02:02 PM
I'm trying to complete Arrow's bin cage extension, but I'm still struggling to find a suitable mesh. I have found so called "insect mesh" that is like mesh but small enough to not let bugs in, dont think that will work, I think it will give poor ventilation. I have also found a mesh that is 1cm squares, but my Mom thinks it's too wide and wont let me buy it. Arrow is a dwarf at about two months now.

Which mesh can I go with?

alexarcano
03-04-2011, 02:42 PM
TBH Insect mesh should be just fine ventilation wise. I have used a similar gause (perhaps even finer) on the air intake of a performance motorcycle to improve engine aspiration ('breathing') over that of a normal filter. A good test is to hold some of the mesh in front of your mouth and breathe through it. If you can do this with no difficulty then it will be ok. Don't know exactly what mesh you have but I don't think it will be a bad alternative to mesh with wider spacing.
Hope this helps :)

Fidgetthefirst
03-04-2011, 02:42 PM
Im not sure what mesh you could usem, but just googled insect mesh and no, i dont think it will let much air in :/

alexarcano
03-04-2011, 02:46 PM
PS. The only thing that may prove a problem is you may have to make a 'structure' to support the mesh as it will probably be too week on its own to support the weight of everything that normally hangs from the top bars, like toys, treets, hamsters... ;)

DwarfNome
03-04-2011, 03:26 PM
Thanks for quick replies! The mesh I saw at the store was quite stiff, but your right, it wouldn't hold the normal things. I'm trying to find some online store that sells mesh, but you guys can't help me with that sense I live in Sweden xD I take it that the 1cm mesh is too large?

alexarcano
03-04-2011, 04:18 PM
wouldnt trust it for small syrian or dwarf, should be ok for adult syrian though. I think :) If you are in doubt you could always double it up and offset so that it's 0.5.