Thread: Rescue Ratties
View Single Post
Old 10-09-2020, 08:46 AM  
Amethyst_ice

Default Rescue Ratties

Hi All,

Many of you will know I have focussed more on rat keeping but still have hammy love. I've been keeping rats for over 10 years now but havn't had the best of years. I've lost many too young and my mischielf is down to 4 now and possibly have to say goodbye to one as I suspect he has a tumour in his cheek which isn't operable. Ive been trying to get new kits for months but the breeders aren't havn't much luck either.

I'm down to a very scraggy old man who has a bad leg but still gets around, my middle age man I may have to say bye to, and two energetic 1 year olds.

I saw some rats advertised on the rspca and thought i'd just enquire. I didn't get them but the shelter phoned me a few days ago and said how impressed they were with my knowledge, experience and set up and would I consider the 2 remaining boys?

Their story is here *warning, contains distressing images*

https://www.kenilworthweeklynews.co....lworth-2953873

They have been at the shelter since mid August and didn't have much fur and short whiskers. The vet said the fur should grow back but from the description, I suspected they were double rex (like hamster rex of wavy fur, the double gene of this causes a patchwork balding effect and curly whiskers, it's genetic not medical- they are also not ethically approved of much in ratty world much like many hairless varieties and do have additional health risks such as skin isues and ingrown hairs).

I am not a fair of hairless or rex varieties but thought I'd see the videos. This is what they sent me

Video 1: https://streamable.com/t4itcm
Video 2: https://streamable.com/ihmjuk

IMG-20201007-WA0007.jpg

IMG-20201007-WA0008.jpg