Thread: DIY Bin Cage
View Single Post
Old 07-06-2019, 06:31 AM  
10Minutes
Hamster Pup

Default Re: DIY Bin Cage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwartzie View Post
I have attached a picture of the rabbit cage I bought. It was cheaper than the biggest samla bin at IkEA. It’s 100cmx50cm...I used bendy wire mesh to put over it. I cut along where the doors were etc.

If you search on this forum attaching water bottle to bins you will come up with threads that cover that. If you can’t find anything look on YouTube. Your hamster shouldn’t be anywhere near the top of your lid where the mesh would be because it’s high up. If you are worried sand them down a bit.

Please send pictures of what you decide to do...so exciting!
Your rabbit cages is so lovely! Unfortunately the rabbit cages here aren't suitable, the shop assistant told me the bottom is barred and a hamster would probably injure her feet. Yeah, I have been trying to watch so many videos. I'm not that good with this kinda handicraft stuff and I don't think I have the proper tools... But it's not rocket science and I'm an adult with people who can help, so I trust if I try hard enough, I can end up with a reasonable enclosure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serendipity7000 View Post
You should be able to mesh side vents without sharp edges ok. If the mesh overlaps the outside of the cut plastic and is the mesh edges are then stuck down with masking tape.

The cut edges of the plastic you can easily smooth with a bit of sanding paper - would only take about 10 minutes. Have a look at some of these below for ideas. I actually think you do need ventilation front, back and top - ventilation is really important.

Even without tape over the external mesh edges, a robo is very unlikely to be able to get out between the mesh and plastic if fixed with cable ties. Our robo is in a barred cage (7mm bar spacing) and wouldn't be able to get through the bars.

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=ha...w=1366&bih=604