View Single Post
Old 05-01-2019, 04:12 PM  
Idra
Newborn Pup

Default Hi from a little scaredy cat xD

Hi, hello, how do you do?
I'm a first time hamster mom to a female Syrian named Mouse, after the shy demeanor she put up at the pet store (although I can safely now say, that was a facade!)
Mouse is a white hammy with a cream head and some cream spots on her butt.
I believe she's 8-10 weeks old? I was so excited I forgot to ask haha. I'll have had her for three weeks this Sunday.

I'm a working college student, and Mouse's expenses are completely on me, as my parents are not animal people and I had to work hard to get them to agree to her, so I'd appreciate any and all DIY suggestions.

Mouse's current set up is a 40 gallon breeder tank with a 12 inch silent spinner, a litter pan, about three cardboard tubes, and some hideaways (of course a water bottle and food bowl as well). I'm currently saving up to buy her some puzzle toys, maybe a little maze, and a playpen.

Mouse is a very friendly hamster. On her first day she was taking treats that I offered her and she always runs up to my hand whenever I'm rearranging something or scatter feeding her. She also loves burrowing and only recently started staying inside one of her hideaways because I covered it in a bend-a-bridge and added some bedding to the sides to make it look buried.

As of right now I'd say we only have two issues: 1. She won't run on her wheel. 2. I'm way to skittish about animals to continue taming her (a poor oversight on my part). Both of these are pretty much my fault, so oof.