View Single Post
Old 06-17-2018, 12:15 AM  
mlwinters
Newborn Pup

Default Re: My Medium Sized DIY Cage

Although it may not seem like it, so far my posts on this project have been quite simple. However, from this update onwards, things are going to get a lot more complex, so grab a cup of tea and a slice of cake...oh and put your thinking cap on too .

Today I will be talking about the only thing on this project that MUST be 100% correct. The power supply unit which powers the entire electrical system for the cage. This update shows the first of four custom made circuit boards used on this project.

DISCLAIMER: Details included in this post are for educational proposes only. DO NOT attempt to recreate any part of this power supply. Parts of this power supply are connected directly to the building’s mains supply which runs at 230VAC, this level of voltage along with the current available can and will kill you or your pet instantly. I have around 20 years experience dealing with electrical systems as well as electrical qualifications. I possess the required practical and theoretical knowledge to make this power supply in a safe way.
Again, DO NOT ATTEMPT TO RECREATE ANY PART OF THIS POWER SUPPLY.

This power supply is designed to step-down the voltage from 230V, convert the lower voltage from alternating current (AC) to direct current (DC) and then output the different voltages I need for the project, 1.3V, 3V, 5.06V, 10V and 15V.

For various reasons, I will use proper terminology when referring to parts of the electrical system. I will try to add the common name in brackets for the first instance. For example: a lamp (light bulb).
If I miss one or you still don’t know what something is, just ask me.

Low Voltage Side (mains):