View Single Post
Old 12-17-2015, 10:18 PM  
mountaingirl95
Newborn Pup

Smile Re: University / college students with hamsters??

Hi! I'm also a college student living in a rented apartment with pet hamsters. I have had my 2 male Robo dwarf hamsters, Nugget and Burrito, for about 4 months now and absolutely love them!

They have been very little financial strain so far, only about $15 a month or so. I buy their food in bulk from the local pet store and I buy large bags of their bedding so that it can last a while. The most expensive part was setting up their cages with all the necessary equipment (I recently separated them into 2 separate cages due to fighting so be prepared to purchase a second cage if you have multiple hamsters).

It was actually my roommates idea to get the hamsters in the first place but she has since grown bored with them while I have grown to love them very much. She doesn't have a problem with them though since I take care of them and she doesn't have to do anything. Sometimes she will ask me to move them to my bedroom if she's watching a movie in our living room and their wheels are being loud, but otherwise they haven't bothered her at all.

A silent wheel is definitely a good investment. My hamsters usually stay in our living room but sometimes I can hear them running on their wheels at night if the wheels haven't been greased in a while. I've kind of tuned it out and it's turned into white noise but one time when the wheels got really squeaky I greased them with Crisco and that helped a lot with the noise.